This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

Free Shipping for all US orders over $50

MOCKUP V2.7 — Poppyseed Play vs Lovevery (imagery pass; design "B warmed with C")
A Lovevery Alternative

The play gym you buy once, not every month.

Comparing wooden baby play gym sets? The Poppyseed Play Gym Set ($165) gives you the whole floor-time setup, gym, mat, and toys, with no subscription, ever, and a movement-toy line that grows with your child to age 10.

★★★★★ 4.98 / 5 1,251 verified reviews No subscription, ever
The Poppyseed Play Gym Set in use: a solid pine wooden baby gym with four hanging toys over a round cotton-shell play mat, with a baby reaching for the toys in a neutral nursery. ★ 4.98 / 5 $165 · one-time
Bottom line

For most families comparing wooden baby play gym sets, the Poppyseed Play Gym Set ($165) is the better buy. You get a solid pine gym, a machine-washable cotton-shell mat, and four hanging toys for the newborn-to-12-month floor-time stage, all for one price with no subscription. It holds 4.98 out of 5 across 1,251 verified reviews, and the same brand makes a full movement-toy line that grows with your child to age 10. Lovevery ($150) is the better fit if you want a guided, card-based curriculum and plan to subscribe to its Play Kits through age 5. The real decision is one-time purchase versus subscription, and what you buy after the gym stage.

The short version

Which is right for you?

Choose Poppyseed Play if you want

The better fit if you want one complete floor-time setup (gym, mat, and toys), no subscription ever, and a movement-toy line that keeps up with your child all the way to age 10.

  • A one-time purchase, with no subscription and no recurring charges
  • One box for the whole floor-time setup: gym, mat, and toys
  • A gym and mat you can split up and take along, not one locked-together unit
  • A movement-toy line that grows with your child from birth to age 10
  • Solid pine wood and a machine-washable, 100% cotton-shell mat
  • Safety testing you can actually see, with reports on file

Choose Lovevery if you want

The better fit for a guided, expert-designed curriculum and the Play Kits subscription path.

  • A guided, stage-by-stage curriculum with activity cards and a play guide
  • The Play Kits subscription path of curated toys through age 5
  • An all-in-one developmental system designed by their expert team
  • A convertible play space cover
Side by side

What's in each set

Both sets include a play gym and a mat. The differences that decide it are underneath, and the biggest one shows up after the gym stage.

Scroll sideways to compare →

Our Pick
Poppyseed PlayOne-time · no subscription
LoveveryGuided curriculum + subscription
Price$165 Save $19$150
Subscription model✓None. One-time purchase.Optional Play Kits ($80–$120/kit)
Movement toys beyond the gym✓Full line: climbers, balance boards, beams, stepping stones (ages 0–10)None
Play mat43" round, 100% cotton shell, triple-padded, machine washableThinner polyester quilted mat
Gym frame materialSolid pine wood, unfinishedFSC-certified Baltic birch plywood
Safety testing frequency✓Retested on a regular, ongoing basis; reports on file for every productNot publicly disclosed
Hanging toys4: beech wood with food-grade silicone beads4: organic cotton ball, wooden ring, cotton teether, silicone rings
Used together or separatelyGym and mat work separately or together, so you can pack the mat in the diaper bag or take it to grandma'sDesigned as one integrated arch-and-mat unit
ExtrasNone (the set is gym + mat + toys)Activity cards, play space cover, play guide
Age range0–12 months0–12 months
ColorsBlack & White, Neutral & White, Gray & NeutralBrighter palette, plastic connectors
Safety certificationsCPSIA compliant, ASTM F963-23 testedOEKO-TEX Standard 100, meets ASTM standards
AssemblyNo tools, under 60 secondsNo tools, ~2 minutes
StorageComes apart and tucks behind the couch; mat foldsFolds, but larger footprint (~4 ft across when open)
Reviews1,251 verified at 4.98 / 5 (Judge.me)2,305 at 4.95 / 5 on Lovevery.com
Designed inUSA (manufactured in China)USA (manufactured in China)

Buy once, not every month

A one-time $165, nothing auto-renews. Lovevery's Play Kits can add $480 or more in the first year.

Grows to age 10

Climbers, balance boards, and beams in the same wood and design language as the gym.

Safety you can see

Retested on a regular basis, with test reports on file for every product.


01No subscription: what this actually costs

A baby lies on the round Poppyseed Play mat and reaches up for the hanging toys on the wooden baby gym.

The sticker prices are close: $165 versus $150. The real difference is what happens next. Poppyseed Play is a one-time purchase, full stop. Lovevery's gym is the on-ramp to its Play Kits subscription, $80 to $120 a kit every 2 to 3 months, which can add $480 or more in the first year alone.

The sticker prices are close. The next twelve months aren't.

One is a purchase. The other is a subscription. With Poppyseed Play you buy what you need, when your child needs it, with nothing waiting to auto-renew.

First-year costPoppyseed PlayLovevery
The gym (one-time)$165$150
Play Kits, year one$0 (none)~$480 (six kits at $80)
First-year total$165~$630
Play Kits are optional, but they are Lovevery's intended next step.

And you keep using it. Parents tell us all the time that they pulled the gym back out of storage for a second or third baby and it held up, still sturdy, still beautiful. One purchase, every kid. That's the math we care about.

KCKC GeenOwner, Poppyseed Play

02Toys that grow with your child, birth to age 10

An older toddler climbs over the wooden Poppyseed Play Climbing Arch and Rocker in a bright bedroom.

A baby gym is a 0–12 month product. What comes next is where these two brands really separate. Poppyseed Play has a full line of movement toys covering birth through age 10, all in the same materials and design language as the gym. The baby reaching for hanging toys at three months can be balancing on a beam at age eight. Same brand, same design standard.

Lovevery does not make climbing or balance equipment, no triangles, boards, beams, or arches. Its path after the gym is the Play Kits subscription of fine-motor and cognitive toys through age 5. For the gross-motor movement that defines toddlerhood, Lovevery families shop elsewhere.

There is another difference underneath the toys: who leads the play. Poppyseed Play does not hand you a schedule. No cards telling you what to introduce on day 14, just a space that invites your baby to reach, roll, and work out the next move on their own. That self-directed exploration is how babies build real confidence in their own bodies (and it leaves room for their own creativity and problem-solving, too).

I can tell you how it went in my own house. We got the Baby Gym at a shower and used it every single day. When my little one started pulling up to stand, we added the Climbing Arch & Rocker. My youngest got so strong she was pulling up earlier than her older siblings ever did. Same family, one brand, years apart.

KCKC GeenOwner, Poppyseed Play

The rest of the movement line

Same solid-wood construction, sized for each stage:


03Safety testing you can actually see

A baby does tummy time on the quilted, 100% cotton-shell Round Baby Play Mat.

Poppyseed Play retests its products on a regular, ongoing basis to the current ASTM F963 revision and keeps test reports on file for every SKU. That is uncommon in this category, where many brands test once at launch and never again. Lovevery holds OEKO-TEX Standard 100 (a textile chemical-safety check) and states it meets ASTM standards, but as of June 2026 it does not publicly disclose its testing frequency.

The two brands also point to different kinds of standards: OEKO-TEX Standard 100 checks textiles for harmful substances, while ASTM F963 is the broader, whole-toy standard, covering mechanical, flammability, and chemical hazards together.

What the standard tests ASTM F963Poppyseed Play · whole-toy standard OEKO-TEX 100Lovevery's textile certification
Mechanical hazards (small parts, sharp edges, strength)✓Tested✗Not covered (textiles only)
Flammability✓Tested✗Not covered
Chemical & heavy metals (lead, phthalates)✓Across the whole toy✓Fabric only
What it applies toThe entire toyTextiles / fabric only
Retested on an ongoing basis✓Every SKU, reports on fileNot publicly disclosed
Both gyms are required to meet U.S. ASTM F963 toy-safety standards. What differs is scope and retesting: Poppyseed Play retests to the whole-toy ASTM F963 standard on an ongoing basis, while OEKO-TEX Standard 100 (which Lovevery highlights for its textiles) certifies fabric only.

This is the part we refuse to cut corners on. We retest and keep the reports on file so safety is one less thing on your plate. You've got enough going on, the blowout that just happened, the cuddles you'd rather not put down. Let us carry the testing.

KCKC GeenOwner, Poppyseed Play
What each certification covers, and when PP last tested

The Baby Gym is CPSIA compliant and independently tested to ASTM F963-23, the most current U.S. safety standard for children's toys, with retesting completed again in 2026. The Round Baby Play Mat included in the Set was tested to ASTM F963-23 in December 2025. That standard covers mechanical hazards, flammability, and chemical content including phthalates, lead, and heavy metals. By contrast, OEKO-TEX Standard 100 covers the fabric only, a meaningful check for the parts a baby mouths, but not the mechanical or flammability testing that applies to the whole toy.


04What your baby is actually touching

A baby's hand grips a smooth beech wood teething ring with food-grade silicone beads on the Poppyseed Play gym.

Babies put most things in their mouths, and both sets are built for that. Poppyseed Play uses a solid, finely sanded pine frame with beech wood toys and food-grade silicone beads. The wood is unfinished: no coatings, no paints, no varnishes. Its 43-inch mat pairs a 100% cotton shell, the part against your baby's skin, with plush triple-padded cushioning, and the whole thing goes in the washing machine. Lovevery uses FSC-certified Baltic birch plywood with high-quality mouthable pieces and a thinner polyester mat.

We built this to last. Not a plastic toy that breaks after one kid, but a sturdy one you buy once and hand down for years, through every kid in the family and the nieces and nephews too. Simple, purposeful toys don't go out of style, so this one is built to outlast the trends.

KCKC GeenOwner, Poppyseed Play

Both meet U.S. safety standards. The difference is what you are choosing between: solid unfinished wood gym with a 100% cotton-shell, machine-washable mat, or Lovevery's FSC-certified plywood with a polyester mat and a broader set of accessories.


You're not taking a risk on an unknown

4,000 families and counting

★★★★★4.98 / 5
1,251 verified-purchase Play Gym Set reviews on Judge.me · 3,047+ across the catalog
★★★★★

"Great quality! I love the natural wood and it was easy to put together. LOVE!"

Carolyne M · Verified purchase
★★★★★

"Product came well packaged and it was easy to assemble. All pieces are of high quality."

Savannah C · Verified purchase
★★★★★

"Beautifully crafted, easy to put together once I figured out the order of the parts (haha)"

May S · Verified purchase

Carried by

West ElmNordstromBabylistMaisonetteModern NurseryBohemian Mama

Featured in

BuzzFeedDwellMomtrendsParent from Heart

Lovevery is the better-known name. But Poppyseed Play is not an unknown: 1,251 verified-purchase Judge.me reviews at 4.98 (not third-party aggregates), design-forward retail partners, and national press mean you can choose it with the same confidence, and skip the $480-a-year subscription.


Who should choose Poppyseed Play?

  • You want one box for the whole floor-time setup, gym, mat, and toys
  • You'd rather your baby drive their own movement than follow a scheduled curriculum
  • Solid, unfinished wood and a 100% cotton-shell, machine-washable mat matter more than activity cards
  • You want the same brand's climbing and balance toys waiting as your child grows, birth through age 10
  • You'd rather buy once than get pulled into a subscription
  • You want safety testing you can actually see, with reports on file

Who should choose Lovevery?

  • You want a structured developmental system with activity cards and expert-backed stage guidance from day one
  • The included play space cover adds value for your family
  • You plan to subscribe to Play Kits for curated toys through age 5
  • FSC-certified wood and OEKO-TEX certification align with your purchasing values
  • You prefer a curated, all-in-one experience over choosing individual products

The verdict

Buy once. Grow for a decade.

For parents who want a complete play gym set that supports early movement, with no subscription and a full line of climbing and balance toys waiting as their child grows, Poppyseed Play is the stronger choice. You get a solid pine frame, beech wood toys, and food-grade silicone; a 43-inch mat with a 100% cotton shell that goes in the washer; regular, ongoing ASTM F963-23 testing; and a movement line that covers ages 0 through 10.

Lovevery makes a thoughtful product backed by a strong expert team. But it stops at fine-motor and cognitive play. For the gross-motor movement that defines toddlerhood and beyond, Poppyseed Play is built for that.

🚚 Free shipping over $50 ↩ Easy returns ✓ CPSC certified · ASTM F963-23 ★ 4.98 / 5 · 1,251 reviews
Before you decide

Frequently asked questions

Is the Poppyseed Play Gym Set as good as Lovevery?

Both are quality wooden play gym sets built for developmental play. Poppyseed Play uses solid pine wood, a 100% cotton-shell mat, and food-grade silicone at $165, focused on movement and floor time. Lovevery uses FSC-certified Baltic birch plywood with a polyester mat at $150, plus activity cards and a play guide. The key difference shows up at the next stage: Poppyseed Play offers climbing, balance, and movement toys through age 10. Lovevery does not make climbing or balance equipment.

Is the Poppyseed Play Gym Set cheaper than Lovevery?

The gym sets are close on sticker price: the Poppyseed Play Gym Set is $165 and the Lovevery Play Gym is $150. The bigger difference is ongoing cost. Lovevery's optional Play Kits subscription runs $80 to $120 per kit, which can add $480 or more in the first year, so a family that follows Lovevery's full path can spend around $630 in year one versus $165 for Poppyseed Play. Poppyseed Play has no subscription. You buy once.

What is the best alternative to the Lovevery Play Gym?

For a complete play gym set without a subscription, the Poppyseed Play Gym Set ($165) is the most direct alternative to the Lovevery Play Gym. It pairs the Wooden Baby Gym with a 43-inch cotton-shell mat and four hanging toys, offers solid wood construction, regular and ongoing safety testing to ASTM F963-23, and a full line of climbing and balance toys that grows with children from newborn through age 10.

What is the Poppyseed Play Gym Set made of?

Solid sanded pine wood gym frame, beech wood hanging toys, food-grade silicone beads, and a 43-inch round play mat with a 100% cotton shell and triple-padded, diamond-quilted cushioning. No coatings, no finishes, no paint on the wood. CPSIA compliant and tested to ASTM F963-23.

Does the Poppyseed Play mat machine wash?

Yes. The Round Baby Play Mat included in the Set is machine washable with like colors and tumbles dry on low. Do not bleach.

Does Poppyseed Play require a subscription?

No. Every Poppyseed Play product is a one-time purchase. No subscription, no auto-renewal, no recurring charges.

Does Poppyseed Play have climbing toys?

Yes. The full line includes a Climbing Triangle & Ramp ($230), Climbing Arch & Rocker ($130), Balance Board ($109), Balance Beam ($148), Stepping Stones ($79), and Adventure Beam ($171). All designed for active, movement-based play from ages 0–10.

Play Gym Set$165 · no subscription
Shop now →

Cart

Congratulations! Your order qualifies for free shipping You are $50 away from free shipping.
No more products available for purchase